Why is @Sony @Playstation blocking my IP?

Over the weekend I had the misfortune of having my IP blocked by Playstation. I tried to log-in to the network so I could play my games online only to find error code  WS-37397-9 and Playstation tech support was zero help.

This error code means that you will not be able to access PS Store, download games or play any games that need the network to function. I can’t access the network on my PS3 or any device that uses my home wifi. I tried to sign in via my cell phone and it worked as long as I wasn’t connected to my wifi.

There was no official explanation other than I somehow violated Sony’s terms of service. They said that even if I didn’t do anything, something on my network flagged my IP. The Playstation support tech told me that there was no way to remove the block, I had to get a new IP address. My internet provider was fantastic in helping me. However, I am still blocked. I called Playstation yet again and another technician gave me ports to open by my internet service provider. I was on the phone with them for over an hour and eventually, all ports were open and I tried to sign into PSN again.

It didn’t work.

I will have to call Playstation support AGAIN. Swapping out the modem to get a new IP worked for one night, but the next day it was blocked again.

I pay for Playstation Plus and have games for my son on pre-order. If this is not resolved, then I will be asking Sony for a full refund. I have been a loyal Playstation customer from the very beginning and I find it extremely frustrating to be blown off and not given any answers. Sony shouldn’t treat their customers with such regard. Perhaps if I had some explanation, I could fix it, but if I don’t know what’s wrong, what am I to do?

According to Down Detector, Playstation is having issues, yet when I spoke to support, they denied there were issues.

PSDown

I don’t know if any of you have had this situation happen, if you have, how was it resolved? I can’t go swap out my modem every day, so if you have any advice for me, it would be appreciated.

If you’re experiencing this, you are not alone.

 

About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in #Informational, Personal Thoughts from Shelly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

