#WhyWomenDontReport and my utter frustration with this election.

I’m sitting here watching the news. Another woman has come forward about Trump’s sexual assault. I see women on my timeline that are STILL supporting him and it honestly makes me sad.

Why? Because I’m losing respect for women that I held in high regard and two because these women have daughters. I hope that their daughters NEVER have to feel the violation of a sexual assault or the humiliation that goes along with it. How will they be able to look their children in the eye and take their sides when they are voting for a self-proclaimed sexual predator?

If this was merely a difference in politics, I can easily overlook that and have quite often. But what I can’t get past is a blatant disregard for women. HOW can a woman vote for Donald Trump? Please, someone, explain it to me because I can’t wrap my head around it.

Do you want your sons growing up thinking that this type of behavior is acceptable? Or your daughters thinking that it was only a touch, it’s not a big deal? No! You wouldn’t. So, why are women (and fathers) giving him a pass?

Some of these very women who support Donald Trump were appalled that Brock Turner only served three months for RAPING a woman, yet they are so willing to give their vote to a sexual predator? I DON’T GET IT. I don’t.

I have survived sexual assaults. Yes, that’s multiple times and I know the toll it takes on you. I can tell you with the utmost sincerity, Donald Trump creeps me the fuck out. I BELIEVE him when he says he “grabs ’em by the pussy.” It’s NOT locker room talk. No man I know speaks about women with such little respect. To say that all men do this is an insult to decent men everywhere. It really is.

Fathers, how would you feel if your daughter told you a man grabbed her in such way? You would want to kill him, right? So, why is it ok for a presidential candidate to behave that way? It’s not.

Maya Angelou said it best. “When people show you who they are, believe them.”

These are my thoughts and if you’re a woman that’s supporting Trump and you find my post hurtful, perhaps you should take a good look in the mirror and ask yourself why this is.

~Shelly

About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts from Shelly, Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

