A House Divided.

My heart is hurting this morning. Alton Sterling and Philando Castile’s families are grieving the loss of a loved one. Now, in Dallas, police have lost their lives.

I support GOOD, honest and hard working police officers, but I will be the first to cry foul if I see police do something contrary to the oath they took.

Being black isn’t a crime! I’m so tired of hearing the excuses, “He shouldn’t have resisted.” or “He shouldn’t have had a gun.” or “There’s more black on black crime.” There is a HUGE problem in this country and more white folks need to acknowledge it! We can’t just stick our heads in the sand and hope it’s going to go away. We need to stand with our black brothers and sisters and acknowledge that, YES, their lives DO matter. Supporting black men and women doesn’t mean you’re anti-police, it means you’re being a decent human being and recognizing there IS A PROBLEM!

Now, I’m fully aware that there are people on my TL that will have an issue with this post and frankly, if you can’t see that there is a big problem, you are part of that problem and I don’t want you as a friend.

I’ve seen the disparity first hand, though I haven’t ever been profiled or pulled over because of the color of my skin. I don’t know what a black mother feels when her child walks out the door. Yes, as mother’s we all fear for our kids, but my son is less likely to be shot by a police officer than a black man or woman. As a white mother, to a white son, I don’t have that fear. I can’t imagine that. Yet, I’m standing with the black community, I will lift my voice and I will state that there is a HUGE systemic problem and unless people of all races join together to support people of color, things will get worse. Change NEEDS to happen.

blacklivesmatter.png

About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

