Indie Authors and Smashwords

How many Indie authors get error messages when trying to submit their manuscript to the “Premium Catalog”?

It’s frustrating, irritating and when you fix these errors and it STILL isn’t right? It’s maddening. I kept getting an error that there was a link to another seller at the end of my manuscript…there wasn’t. I checked for hyperlinks, I checked for embedded links etc. It wasn’t there. I resent the manuscript and it passed the autovetter, but when it came back, it was flagged with errors, again.

I decided to upload to NOOK myself. Guess what? It uploaded with ZERO issues. Smashwords were blaming NOOK for the errors that I was receiving. There were no formatting issues, no links to other retailers or anything else. So, why is Smashwords making things so difficult? Unfortunately, I don’t have an answer, but since I’m an Indie author, I have the ability to upload my book to NOOK without any problems. Will it go to lesser known retailers that are outlined in Smashwords “Premium Catalog”? No, probably not, but I’m ok with that.

About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Indie Authors and Smashwords

  1. Jack says:

    I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours lately, but I never found
    any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s beautiful price enough for me. In my opinion,
    if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you
    probably did, the net will probably be a lot more useful than ever before. http://www.Yahoo.net/

    Like

Leave a Reply

