Public profile craziness.

cover mouth

I had decided to create a public profile for Facebook, one that’s separate from my private life. While I’m in now way shape or form a celebrity, I got a taste of what they must experience on a daily basis. Within the span of 48 hours, I have been asked out numerous times, asked for money, sent pictures of a disgusting nature, people wanting to Skype,¬†people trying to get a free book or asking me to publish their novels.
I don’t mind chatting with new people, BUT and that’s a big but, I don’t like when people message me wanting the aforementioned things. It’s crass and I wonder if these folks actually think these things work.
I only saw a sliver of the craziness of being in “public”, but I have to say I have a new appreciation for the celebrities who get all of that times 1000 on a daily basis.
Musicians, artists, authors or just about anyone in a creative genre love to hear that you appreciate our work, can’t wait for the next album/project/book to come out. But sending vulgar images will NOT get you a polite reply and will likely get you blocked.
Anyway, that’s just an observation of mine. I wonder how many of you have similar stories.
~Shelly
About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts from Shelly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

