It’s not over.

I bill myself as independent, but it seems that I’m leaning toward the Democratic party more and more. Specifically in the case of Bernie Sanders.  When I hear him speak, it’s a reflection of things that I have thought about a lot lately. Then I hear that Donald Trump wants to make Muslims wear badges and other atrocious things, and I clearly see that the Republican party is out of touch with most of the nation.

I found this video and I feel that this should be out front in the media, yet it’s not. People are saying they wish that #BlackLivesMatter crowd would just shut up already. To those people, I’d ask, why does it bother you so much? Is it because it’s making you confront your racist tendencies? Does it make you uncomfortable? My answer to those questions are a resounding yes, it’s making people examine their lives under a microscope, and it brings to light that they aren’t as “good” as they believe themselves to be.

I can’t stress this enough; #BlackLivesMatter doesn’t mean anti-white. It means that a black life is just as important as a white life. Until this country gets to the point where a black mother can let her child walk out of the house without fearing for their safety, this message needs to continue. It’s a tragedy that black men and woman are losing their lives over trivial infractions, and white folks want to shut down the #BlackLivesMatter movement. I can hear people saying “not all white people,” and I’m not speaking to those folks about race issues. I’m talking about the ones who say, “All lives matter,” but when Syrian refugees needed help, they said “No! They could be terrorists!” If EVERY life matters, then Syrian, Nigerian, Muslim, Ghanan, South African, Angolan, etc., lives matter. You don’t get to pick and choose. It’s all or nothing. How hard is that to understand?

There is a lot wrong with our nation. Do I think Bernie can fix it all? Unfortunately, no. Do I think he could? Only if people would stop trying to block progress. President Obama could have done so much more, but politicians got in the way, and now people are so quick to point out his broken promises. Hypocrisy is a blinding problem in our country. We’re a broken nation, and until we can work together to solve problems, things will continue to get worse.

We desperately need something to change.

~Shelly

 

About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

