My Mother Never Told Me…

black_mother_and_child_or_nanny21871643_std146121530-378x334

My mother has given me a lot of wisdom over the years. She has experienced life first-hand and she often knows how to handle situations when they arise.

She told me that when you get pregnant, the labor pains are the most excruciating pains you will ever experience. She told me that the pain will fade, but you will never forget it. It’s through the labor pains, that you appreciate your child even more. It’s a labor of love. You’ll feel joy over little things, your child’s first smile, when he rolls over and when he says, Mom.

But my mother never told me how fiercely protective I would become and that I would want to strangle another child for being mean to my son.

2114581449741661137LFk8RMxc

My mother never told me about the endless nights that I will lie awake when my son is sick and hoping I’m doing everything right.

My mother never told me about the pure joy that I will feel when I hear my son say, “I love you, Mom.”

My mother never told me about the sheer terror that I will feel when there is something wrong with my son.

My mother never told me about the sadness and the excitement that I would feel when my son went to school for the first time and let’s not forget the heartbreak that I felt when he cried out for me to take him home with me.

mothers-and-babies-share-cells-537x428

My mother never told me about the guilt that I would feel for losing my patience or feeling frustrated when there’s nothing I can do to help my son.

My mother never told me how hard it is to see your child hurting, knowing that there are many more heartaches to come.

My mother never told me that I would lie awake at night looking back on the things I’ve done, hoping that I’m doing right by my son.

My mother never told me that despite being told that I am a great mother, those doubts are always there.

My mother did tell me that, “this will hurt me more than it will hurt you,” when a punishment was about to be given. I never fully understood how true that statement was until I had my own son.

01ca5c3ff1277f49fe9723a8c8aa57f5

My mother never told me how fast life slips by and that you’ll look back and wonder where the time went.

My mother never told me how hard it would be to see my child grow up and slowly pull away because they are growing into an adult, yet still feeling a sense of pride.

My mother never told me the depth of love she had for me. It wasn’t until I had my son that I could appreciate her sacrifices.

2-sleeping-mother-child-pohotogprahy

You see, it’s those things that she didn’t tell me that make me appreciate my mother even more. Being a mother is definitely the hardest job in the world, but it is also the best job I will ever have. When I look at my son, I see unconditional love. A love that is so pure, you wonder how you ever lived without it.

 

About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts from Shelly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Mother Never Told Me…

  1. Pingback: My Mother Never Told Me… | Dark Moon Series

Leave a Reply

