Book Piracy: Should you be worried?

jolly roger

As new authors, it’s easy to forget that book piracy is out there. I recently come across our book on one of these sites. My first response was indignation. “How dare they give away a book that we worked so hard on!” I even sent out tweets to some of the authors listed on that website. I’ll admit, I was a bit naive to think that our book would ever fall victim to piracy. Yet here we are.

I asked another author how they dealt with piracy. He said that he’d try to get his books removed from sites like this in the past, but it was mostly in vain. However, he’s changed his philosophy. He quoted Neil Gaiman, “A writer’s enemy isn’t piracy, it’s obscurity.” That made sense to me. Though, my co-author may not agree.

But the more I looked at the website, I saw that our book was alongside some of the most popular authors. John Grisham, Stuart Woods, Dan Brown and Jeaniene Frost to name a few. It made me think of things in a different light.

Someone out there thinks our book is worth pirating. Now Michael and I know our book is great. Yet someone went through the effort of putting our book up and even added the reviews.

Our book is out there and people want to read it. How is this different than Michael or I giving a book away? The only difference is that we didn’t consent. Our goal is to get people to read our work. It’s like this, if someone reads a pirated copy of our book and then talks about it with friends, we’re getting noticed. Ultimately we’re gaining far more than we’re losing. We gain new readers.

I’m not condoning piracy, but I’m not exactly against it. I know this isn’t a popular opinion. For me at least, it’s a good sign.

~Shelly

About darkmoonseries

Shelly Burrows and Michael Stewart have been role-playing together for five years and have decided to bring their characters to life. Both speak sarcasm fluently and love to talk to people about the most random of topics. Feel free to interact!
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts from Shelly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Piracy: Should you be worried?

  1. Love this post Shelly! I share your opinion, I don’t condone piracy either but like you, when someone actually likes it enough to take the time to put it out there with other big authors on their site and it gets noticed, it may be a blessing in disguise! 🙂
    Much love girly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Book Piracy: Should you be worried? | RAVENSWOOD PUBLISHING

  3. its true, what we need as authors is readership first then with it comes financial gains, actually if the book is good enough i have had customers purchase the book they have already read just to support the author. in a long term i actually think book piracy is the greatest marketing tool that’s why youtube is a great tool for musicians, they see it differently, but again this is just my thoughts.
    its like better to have 50 cents but with a million readers waiting for the nest release than 10 dollars from a single customer who actually regrets the purchase

    Like

Leave a Reply

